New Year, New List

12362424_1055859571104282_1521297216_n(1)

This is my very ambitious to-read pile for 2016.  But I’m shooting for big things this year.  This isn’t an impossible task considering that I’ve finished 16 books this year.  I just need to take it out on Plants v. Zombies time.  I think I have more chances of accomplishing this anyway than doing the daily 15-minute planking I said I’ll do this year.

I got some big titles here: books I’ve always wanted to read and searched for years, but sadly remained in my unread pile for so long.  This is hopefully the year I try to match my buying with my reading.

1. The Metamorphosis ~ Franz Kafka
2. The Brothers Karamazov ~ Fyodor Dostoevsky
3. Far From the Madding Crown ~ Thomas Hardy
4. The Phantom of the Opera ~ Gaston Leroux
5. Begin to Exit Here ~ John Welter
6. In Cold Blood ~ Truman Capote
7. Can You Forgive Her? ~ Trollope
8. Night Train ~ Martin Amis
9. The Vagina Monologues ~ Eve Ensler
10. The Dolce Vita Diaries ~ Cathy Rogers and Jason Gibb
11. The Rare and the Beautiful ~ Cressida Connolly
12. The Brief and Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao ~ Junot Diaz
13. Wilhelm Meister’s Apprenticeship ~ Goethe
14. The Tin Drum ~ Gunter Grass
15. Sister Carrie ~ Theodore Dreiser
16. Washington Square ~ Henry James
17. Catch-22 ~ Joseph Heller
18. The Professor ~ Charlotte Bronte
19. The Bhagavad Gita
20. The Jungle Books ~ Rudyard Kipling
21. On the Road ~ Jack Kerouac
22. Blink ~ Malcolm Gladwell
23. Thinking, Fast and Slow ~ Daniel Kahneman
24. Cloud Atlas ~ David Mitchell

Oh yeah, Happy New Year! Cheers.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “New Year, New List

  1. wow, that’s a lot of books right there! my goal is to read at least 10 books this year (and take those reading times out of candy crush). hehe.

    • I’m tired of having these great books on pile and not reading them. Years ago I would give anything to acquire these books, and when I had them na, wala na nuon nako nabasa. This is the year!

      • you actually inspired me to read more books this year too. i don’t have a lot of TBR’s sitting on my shelf but i’m on a mission to collect some more when i get the chance to hit the thrift shops. because i simply cannot justify the idea of buying $35 books which i can get for $3 secondhand.

      • Yes. Probably more environment-friendly, too. But some books are worth the $, secondhand or not, if it’s a good edition, that is if you’re collecting. Some books are meant to be pretty, sitting on your shelf in all it’s glory. Hehe.

Leave a Reply

