a year in non-fiction

The Soul of Money by Lynne TwistThe Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie KondoZero Waste Home by Bea Johnson

There was a time in my life when I thought reading self-help type, non-fiction books was a waste of time.  I am now old enough to know better.  And also old enough to need to read non-fiction.

It started with Eat, Pray, Love.  It’s not in my Hall of Fame but for the first time in my life I read something about a person’s life and was able to not only understand but relate to her.  It made me yearn for something more.

Later on, I picked out non-fiction books for practicality.  I needed help in certain aspects of my life and have come to a point when I needed the perspective and techniques of experts.  These three books: The Soul of Money (Lynne Twist), The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying up (Marie Kondo), and Zero Waste Home (Bea Johnson), I picked for different reasons.  Little did I know that reading these together would create something powerful in me.  These three books pertain to different things but practically serve a single purpose.

At my age right now I’m looking to do something that will serve the best good not only for myself and my family but for the world in general.  These three books are literally life-changing.  I want to live a purposeful and principle-based life and these will help me achieve that.  At this day and age, it is possible to live a sustainable and free life.

Leave a Reply

