book list 2013

January 20, 2013 § 12 Comments

Two thousand thirteen is going to be a crazy busy year.  And because of that I am planning my year carefully, including the books I’m going to read.  I’ve done this before, planning and prioritizing books to read, with zero success rate.  But I have just proven with Gulliver’s Travels that if I really just stick with a book, I can finish, and the book may just surprise me by the insights it offers towards the end.  And, as Graham Greene said, one can endure discipline as long as one is happy.  And I am happy.  I’m going to be very disciplined with my reading.  With lesser reading time, I have to make sure I cover the more important works of fiction.  So here are the books, one for each month, that I’m going to be reading this 2013.

January – The End of the Affair by Graham Greene.  I have four Greene books in my shelf and have read only one.  I liked The Power and the Glory.  I thought I’d read another one of his books.  I have in fact started with this already because I have finished with my books for the year early.  This is a good choice to start with, too, because it’s easy and highly intriguing.

February – Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy.  I have read and got disappointed by this book.  It was a bad choice of edition.  I got this new one, the same edition as a friend has read and recommended.  I’m hoping it’s going to be a better experience the second time around.  I scheduled this for February that way if I lag I will have the whole year to make up for it.  Besides, it’s the love month: great way to regularize the romantic mood with something a tad sad.

March – The Aeneid of Virgil.  This book requires commitment.  And March seems like the commitment month.  I dunno, maybe it’s something to do with March being graduation month with all those students graduating or finishing a year of school feeling all accomplished and all that this might just be the perfect month to read AND FINISH The Aeneid.  Trust me, I have read the first few pages and it is going to be no easy feat reading this one.

April – The Princess Bride by William Goldman.  I thought this would be the perfect plane book for my vacation with my sister.  I picked this up from Inkheart.  I hope this proves to be a better read than that one.

May – Dubliners by James Joyce.  Ulysses was an epic fail.  I could not get past through the 10th page.  Apparently, this one needs a code to move on to the 11th page.  Difficult would be an understatement to describe that book.  It was not good for my self-esteem so I gave it up.  But I am not a total failure when it comes to Joyce.  I did read A Portrait of an Artist as a Young Man, though I had a difficult time with that as well.  Making up for the Ulysses failure (*self-esteem crashing*)  is me reading Dubliners.  Pep talk to self: “I can do this!”

June – Catch-22 by Joseph Heller.  For years this book has managed to evade me.  I have only recently got this.   I love Heller.  I think he’s the first American author that really cracked me up.  (I usually go to my trusty British funny guys for my crack-up needs, i.e. Herriot, Douglas.)  I figured this would be a great way to ease up into law school, by reading something light and easy.  Good luck to me.

July – Delta Wedding by Eudora Welty.  I heard of Welty through Gilmore Girls (only my favorite show on the planet).  I was not particularly looking for it but I found it at Booksale and thought I’d give her a try.

August – The Heart is a Lonely Hunter by Carson McCullers.  The first time I read about this book I loved the title instantly.  That  same love for the title, however,  in no way helped this book from staying in the back shelf for a long time unread.  But that is changing next year.  The Heart is a Lonely Hunter, I hope you’re a good as you’re named.

September – Washington Square by Henry James.  I just have to read a Henry James novel.

October – Hard Times by Charles Dickens.  I have resolved to read one Dickens novel a year until I finish ’em all.  I thought I’ve read enough of Dickens and yet I still see a lot of familiar titles I have not read.  Why couldn’t he be more like Austen?  Austen wrote six books and three more she did not finish and I’m done with her.

November – The Yearling by Marjorie Rawlings.  This should be good.  And I need to cross off something from my Pulitzer list.

December – Notre Dame of Paris by Victor Hugo.  I thought I’d end with this.  Les Miserables was great and it forever etched Hugo in my heart.

*Re-post from facebook, Dec. 29, 2012

§ 12 Responses to book list 2013

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading book list 2013 at a book diary.

meta

