stephen king on writing

I’ve only ever read one of Stephen King’s books.  That was Misery and I’ve read it back in high school.  I didn’t read any of Stephen Kings novels after that.  It wasn’t bad, no.  But he did scare me.  I guess you can say he’s very good at what he does.  I swore off horror novels after that because it left me with images that kept me sleepless and made me keep looking behind me to check if the scary woman is there yet.

Even if you’re not a big follower you’d want to read what a Stephen King says about writing if you’re interested in writing and loves to read yourself.  And I got interested on this one.  Never mind what he said about writing itself and those technicalities he discussed, I loved the book because his writing was a pleasure to read.  I didn’t really know who Stephen King was and now I do.  He’s funny!  And I’m kind of a fan now.  I have a couple of his books in my shelf now and I’m even more interested in reading them than I was before.  I highly recommend this book, On Writing.  Stephen King is a pleasure to read when he’s not trying to scare you.

4 thoughts on “stephen king on writing

  1. I agree, this is one of the best books “on writing” I’ve read in a long time. You might want to try some of King’s novella’s, usually four to a collection, because they are not so heavy on the horror and truly exhibit the man’s writing skills. They are largely my Stephen King favorites.

    • Thank you, Sam! I’ll take note of it. I’m currently reading Nabokov’s Lolita. But I’ll start watching out for those novellas. Although, I still have a couple of King’s novels in my shelf unread. Anyway, I happen to have bought Elements of Style which King recommended in his book.

Leave a Reply

