abandoning ulysses

May 21, 2012 § 10 Comments

I can’t.

I just can’t.

I don’t have brain power enough for it.

Tagged: ,

§ 10 Responses to abandoning ulysses

  • I hear you! I’m at Episode 9. I’m reading one episode a week. Or more like one for every two weeks.

    • bookysh says:

      God, it’s like you have to be in his head. It’s like he’s speaking a different language, and I don’t just mean the many French sentences there. Maybe I’ll do it like you’re doing it. But I read to be entertained and not to be braindead so maybe there is no point in reading it. I don’t know. I just don’t know. Thinking about it is giving me headache already.

      • Truth is, I’m just trying to get over it because I cannot bear to leave a book I started unfinished, regardless of my feelings for it. I don’t know, it’s me being very OC. So yes, I’m trying different ways to at least understand a line or two per page.

      • bookysh says:

        OK, I’m gonna use you as my inspiration for this one. 🙂

      • Whoa, haha! I know someone who finished it with the help of a guidebook. I’m usually averse to these (Spark Notes, Wiki, etc.), but if it would prove to be helpful, I might just get into it.

        Besides, you are right. If reading is no longer entertaining, let’s move on to other books. It’s just me and my silly OC-ness. 😀

      • bookysh says:

        I used to never like leaving a book unfinished — until I’ve acquired so many that it doesn’t seem to make sense to stay with one book I’m not enjoying when there are so many others to read. That and the fact that I believe every book you read serves a function at the time of reading, so if something doesn’t feel right at the time, you must move on to something else that might help you make sense of life at that point in time. Get what I mean? And I can easily put this down knowing that I’ll take it on again at some future, more fitting time.

        That’s a good idea about a guidebook. I might do that as well. Like you, I don’t believe in those. I think books are meant to be enjoyed and felt, not to be dissected or anything like that. Ulysses certainly is my biggest challenge since Moby-Dick. But at least that was in English, not Martian.

      • […] I believe every book you read serves a function at the time of reading […]

        This is quite a thought. By this, do you also mean to say that one is destined to read the books that he is reading? Or does one create the meaning out of the books that he is reading?

        I haven’t read Moby-Dick yet, but it’s in my reading list. I don’t know when, but it will come. As for me, my biggest challenge could be War and Peace, mostly because of its breadth. Although my edition has a lot of French, it’s still better than an alien language. 😀

      • bookysh says:

        Not only destined to read the books he is reading but read it at that particular time. I’ve just noticed that the books I read seems to be just the right book to read given what I’m going through at that certain time. It certainly helps put things into perspective.

        I loved War and Peace! It was a surprise because Anna Karenina bored me to death. But I think I read the wrong edition for that one. The Bantam book I read had a more modern take on the language, which I think is just wrong for a classic like this. I have since bought a new edition that a friend of mine read and loved. When it comes to books like these, language is everything.

        As for Moby-Dick, good luck! 🙂

      • I would suggest the Pevear-Volokhonsky translation. I think I am becoming a huge fan of them, the translators! I also have their translation of Anna Karenina, and your comment on it makes me a little nervous, hahaha!

      • bookysh says:

        I thought AK would be really, really beautiful. I think it really was the translation because I read War and Peace a long time afterwards and I liked Tolstoy. Just make sure you have the right edition is my advice. I don’t know Pevear-Volokhonsky, but as long as it’s not Joel Carmichael, you’re safe. 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading abandoning ulysses at a book diary.

meta

