a feast for crows

April 23, 2012 § Leave a comment

Out of a strong recommendation by an online friend, I started reading the A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R. R. Martin.  She said it was way better than Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings.  While I, after reading the first three books, beg to respectfully differ (even if I did not highly enjoy reading LOTR, I still think that Tolkien is a genius) it really got me entertained, and I couldn’t stop flipping through the pages.  I stopped sometime in the middle of the third book after what happened to Robb Stark (I cannot get over it still!), but I continued after some time and finished.  I did not move on to the fourth book right away, however, because it got… complicated.  Too many people, too many places, too many details.  Of course those are part of the fascination of this series, but I just needed a bit of a break.  The second season of HBO’s Game of Thrones has started and as I was a fan of the first season, I’m following the second one too.  It’s making me want to get on with my reading of the series and buy the fifth book.  It’s time.

It is time for this book.  And many other books.  So far I have only finished four books (not including those law books) this year.  Sad, really, since it’s the only thing that makes me truly happy, being a reader.  And I want to get back to it.  Well, I have the rest of the year to make up for the slow start.  Happy reading to me! 🙂

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading a feast for crows at a book diary.

meta

