on 2011 reading goals

I totally forgot that I made reading goals for 2011.  I listed seven books that I had to read within the year.  I read a total of 24 books but only three out of the seven books listed.  The list included:

1. Noli Me Tangere by José Rizal

2. Swann’s Way by Marcel Proust

3. The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton (for re-reading)

4. Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck

5. A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

6. A Journey to the Center of the Earth by Jules Verne (or any other Jules Verne)

7. In Cold Blood / Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote

I read items 2, 3 and 4.  Three out of seven.  Almost 50%.  Not bad.  Anyway, reading Swann’s Way was enough of an achievement for a year, I think.  I didn’t bleed with the effort as I thought I would.  I actually really liked it.  And I read it at a time when something else was particularly engrossing me and I couldn’t help but note that just when I started reading Swann’s Way –this book that I have been wanting to read forever, and I knew was very good, and that didn’t disappoint — then this singular, remarkable, out-of-the-blue thing happened to me.  It’s notable how there is a parallel between what we read and what goes on in our lives.  I always say that I seem to read just the right book at the right time of my life.  There was no connection between Swann’s Way and what was going on with me, except that I was really curious about it and I thought Marcel Proust controversial and I was feeling all sorts of controversial at the time.

I have read The Age of Innocence before.  I liked it well enough but it didn’t really hit the mark for me.  I re-read it to see if I would like it better but I felt the same as I did after the first reading.  Newland Archer, though, would remain to be one of my favorite male characters from a book.  The movie was really good, though.

Of Mice and Men.  John Steinbeck hit the mark for me with Grapes of Wrath: it is one of my all-time favorites.  This book, Of Mice and Men, is a short one and I really can’t comment on it except that I am thankful it’s crossed off my list.

This year, as I’ve said, I won’t be picking what particular books to prioritize.  I will go with whatever feels right at the moment and whatever would help me de-stress from my law studies.  There is one book that I know I will read before the year is over: Ulysses.  It is a done deal.

2 thoughts on “on 2011 reading goals

    • Really? I liked it well enough, just not as much as I thought I should have. But I still think that it was a good read on it’s own. I really recommend the movie, though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

