new year, new goals

December 29, 2011 § 12 Comments

… not necessarily better ones.  I have set a “one book a month” goal for my reading for the coming year.  I know.  Too little.  It’s sad when at the end of next year I finish only 12 books.  Fitting, though, for twenty-twelve.  My number’s been dwindling which is a sad thing.  My consolation is that many other things in my life have improved.  So there’s a balance.  I have read only 25 books this year, that’s less than half the books I have read last year.  But more work has been done.  Basically, for every book I have not read is equivalent to more pesos in earnings.  Next year is a different story, however; many people who go to law school have no time to read fiction. AT. ALL.  I now understand why of course, it’s almost impossible to insert the pleasure reading with the more “important”, intense, basis-for-grade readings.  It’s important to me, this law thing, and I want to do it right.  Still, fiction feeds my soul and I can never do without it.  My 24 hours a day might not be enough for one class’s readings but I cannot forgo my soul’s nourishment.  I. Must. Read. Fiction.

I won’t pick what books to read like I did last year (I can never seem to faithfully abide by those lists).  I will read what would feel right at the time and what will effectively take me away from reality that is civil and criminal cases, store renovations, my life, etc.  I can only hope that what little fiction I would be able to read will all be very, very important ones (see: Ulysses, Lolita, The Works of Edgar Allan Poe…).  Right now I’m settling for Douglas Adams’ Mostly Harmless.  I need for the end of this year to beginning of next year to start with laughter.

Happy New Year! 🙂 Laugh more, live more, love more, read more. Live happy, stay inspired. ♥

Tagged:

§ 12 Responses to new year, new goals

  • ypilleYpille says:

    Hi Jac: these are not bad goals at all; and productivity meaning: earning more money; I think is a good trade. It’s a sign of adulthood which has its perks and is inevitable anyway!

    • bookysh says:

      Adulthood! Heheh. Yeah, that. I have to save up if I plan to retire with enough money to buy the best books with, right? Happy New Year, dearie! :*

  • I’ve read Lolita last year, and I must say you should squeeze it for 2012. Strongly recommended! And oh, I’ll also be reading Ulysses this 2012. Happy New Year!

    • bookysh says:

      I started Lolita but I didn’t finish. It requires a certain something to read. Ulysses I’ve attempted but couldn’t get past the first couple of pages. Hard! I will try my hardest squeeze them both. 🙂 Thank you! Happy New Year!

  • fantaghiro23 says:

    Good luck with law school, Jacklyn! Like you, I won’t go with a book list this year. Will just set general directions. And wouldn’t it be nice if book blogging were an income generating activity?:)

    • bookysh says:

      Thank you! 🙂 Income generating activity? It would be nice, I guess, but my blogging won’t be the same. Plus, who needs the pressure? Hehehe. Besides, I’m not on pro level yet. You, on the other hand, deserves to get something for your pieces that are well thought out and and well-written. I’m just writing for myself and that’s all I can really do for now. Anyway, I hope 2012 gives us more life altering books to read. 🙂

  • […] year, as I’ve said, I won’t be picking what particular books to prioritize.  I will go with whatever feels […]

  • mgik says:

    Hey Jac! Happy New Year! (and new reads).

    I got given Death Comes to Pemberley.. which you might also enjoy. but then, that would entail adding another book to your list eh?

    Good luck with law school. Setting aside some fiction for law books is sadly your reality for now but would be beneficial in the future, right?

    • bookysh says:

      Happy New Year! :))

      Death Comes to Pemberley? I haven’t heard of it. Is it good? I am very suspicious of book “spin-offs” (is that the right term?), especially of classics books, and especially of the Pride and Prejudice book. But if you say it’s good, I’ll add it to my reading list that contains about a million.

      About law school, I can only hope that it will be beneficial. Heheh. I like the prospect of THAT future, but it is more important to me that I’m happy as I go along. And I am. 🙂

  • It is easy for someone who has already read books written by more complex minds. Law books, almost like cook books can be boring. But we must accustom our self to it. Even the language is so dry and lifeless, unlike the language of the kind of books which we have are colorful and dynamic. But maybe that’s the nature of the discipline.

  • We better enroll in a Master’s Degree in Comparative Literature, probably American Literature and European Literature.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading new year, new goals at a book diary.

meta

