reading : the brothers karamazov

I finished Marcel Proust’s Swann’s Way while still in the middle of George R.R. Martin’s A Storm of Swords, the third book of the A Song of Ice and Fire series.  Reading Proust is an accomplishment and I am feeling proud.  I didn’t really feel like going back to A Storm of Swords yet so I decided to check my piles upon piles of books thinking I’d read something light… a thin book with a large font, preferably a children’s book.  I picked instead Fyodor Dostoevsky’s The Brothers Karamazov.  Heavy.  Classic.  I think, if I can base it on another book of his that I have read, Crime and Punishment, a little dark.  I have nothing but admiration for Dostoevsky after reading Crime and Punishment.  I didn’t even pick that book; it was my sister who sent it to me knowing that I’m into the classics.

This book was a recent acquisition.  My favorite bookstore, Libro Atbp., was having a major 50% off sale and, of course, I bought a ton of books.  This book has an overpowering musty smell — I love it!  I will have to go back to the bookstore, though, because this is apparently just the first part of two.  I’m hoping part two of this set is available.  Anyway, the first few chapters of this book are very good so far, so I think I’m going to find a good read in this one.

Leave a Reply

