reading resolutions

Here are the books I really must strive and “take on” this year.  Not having all the time and leisure as before to read, I have to have a planned reading list.  I will always still be reading of course, it’s already a habit that’s hard to break.  I simply can’t go to be and sleep directly without having to open my book.  I only sleep until I’ve exhausted all my staying awake powers and fall directly to sleep after the last word that my conscious mind can take.  But the time between opening the book and staying awake has become shorter and shorter.  So, 2011.  I believe in quality over quantity generally.  With books, quality always, but the more the better also.  When it comes to books, it’s a bottomless pit for me.  The more I read, the longer the reading list goes.  I guess that is only one of the ironies of MY life.  For this year, here are my priorities in no particular order:

1. Noli Me Tangere by José Rizal

2. Swann’s Way by Marcel Proust

3. The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton (for re-reading)

4. Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck

5. A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

6. A Journey to the Center of the Earth by Jules Verne (or any other Jules Verne)

7. In Cold Blood / Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote

Two other books that I’ve had forever but have so far found it to be quite an impossible undertaking are Lolita and Ulysses.  If I should ever get any desire to read them (finishing, in Lolita’s case), I would give them a go.  Let us take it for granted that in between these books would be the lighter, shorter books that I call breaks from all the heavy reading, like Roald Dahl, Douglas Adams, and James Herriot.

Happy reading, everyone! 🙂

5 thoughts on “reading resolutions

  1. Hi! Also aim to read 4 out of your 7 targets this year: Noli, Age of Innocence, In Cold Blood, and Tale of Two Cities (which I have tried thrice before, but never got through). These four have been languishing in my bookshelves for some time now, so I better get around to them.

    And I am with you when you say quality over quantity. I think it’s fun to read good books slowly. You can really relish them. Oh, big fan of Douglas Adams, too!

    • Hey Hon! 🙂 I’ve been wanting to read a Capote for the longest time, only I couldn’t find a cheap copy of In Cold Blood. As for Noli, we have all heard of it of course. I’ve never read it, not even when I was going through HS and college. It’s nice to just pick it out of NBS’s shelf just to read like I would any other fiction novels there. I’m more proud that the writer is Filipino. And it’s nice to read it not for assignment or anything. I love the first paragraph of A Tale of Two Cities. I’m reading it now. 🙂 As for Wharton, I think you will love this book if you haven’t read it yet. 🙂
      And I’m glad to find an Adams fan in you!

Leave a Reply

