the age of innocence

The Age of Innocence

Elizabeth Peyton

I read Edith Wharton’s The Age of Innocence at a time when I was just getting into the classics and read anything classic without looking for any particular title.  When I finished reading I knew it was a really good book but I couldn’t decide whether it was a favorite or not.  I really loved the bittersweet feel of the story, though, particularly the ending.

I saw the movie a while back.  Powerful.  I loved it.  It was one of those rarity of a book made to movie that was actually great.  (Still, of course, never greater than the book.)  I guess the gap between the reading and the watching was too long to make me look out for finer comparisons.  Nonetheless, the movie did something that enhanced my feel for the book and made me want to read it again.  I’ve always thought of re-reading it, but watching the movie just increased my desire to immerse myself into the book again.  This Wharton book definitely deserves a second reading.  Anyway, The Age of Innocence the movie just had to be great.  It was directed by no less than Martin Scorsese and starred Daniel Day-Lewis, Michelle Pfeiffer and Winona Ryder.

I had to put this in here to prioritize.  The first half of January has ended and I haven’t even finished a book yet.  Being busy and all, I have to prioritize my books for the year, including those I want to re-read.  I have a mental list but I’ll put it in writing here after The Restaurant at the End of the Universe.  Fancy title by the fancy Douglas Adams.  (I am just about to start a cult!  I am so extremely fond of Adams.)

One thought on “the age of innocence

Leave a Reply

