all the king’s men

When I think about favorite books, I don’t instantly think of Robert Penn Warren’s All the King’s Men; but when I think about All the King’s Men, I instantly think that this is one of my favorite books.  If I have to compare, I’ll compare him with Grisham and Baldacci.  I’m not sure how justified I am in the comparison, but this is one favorite of mine that is more contemporary, and what with the lawyers, and politics, and newspapermen, it’s quite close.  But of course, this is way better.  Not only because of the Pulitzer, but this book is really a class of its own.  Among my favorites, this is an isolated favorite of its type.

I highly recommend this book.  The movie, on the other hand, is blah.  It had a great cast: Sean Penn, Anthony Hopkins, Jude Law, Kate Winslet, etc, but it didn’t deliver.  I actually did not finish the movie.  (What a bore!)  The first adaptation, though, in 1949 is supposedly good.  It won three Oscars.  Maybe that one I should watch.

The book is really, really good.  Also, it has one of those really great titles.  This is probably my favorite title of a book.  I mean, when you think about title, it’s really just something that you use to refer to the book you’re reading, but with this book, the title really practically tells the story, or, at least, you’ll know it after reading.  It’s really a perfect title… for this book, that is.

Leave a Reply

