great expectations

September 24, 2010 § 1 Comment

This book is one of my all-time favorites.  It’s in my top 5 favorite books.  I don’t know about you but this one is my favorite Dickens.  Oliver Twist was my first Dickens and one of the first classic books I’ve read when I started really reading the classics.  Oliver Twist, or any Charles Dickens novel, was of course one of the basic introduction to the classics.  I don’t know if it was because I was just starting with the classics, or it really was the book, but I found Oliver Twist a bit dreary for me, and too tragic.  Of course it ended happy, like all other Dickens novels I’ve read, but there were moments I really couldn’t bear, I mean for Oliver Twist.  He was so young and the things he has gone through really was unbearable.  The other Dickens I read was David Copperfield.  I didn’t like it very much.  Writing-wise, of course, it was very good, but story-wise, it was just too predictable for me.

Great Expectations.  I really cried while reading some of the parts.  Joe is one of my favorite characters of all time.  He was so humble and unassuming and very generous at heart.  He breaks my heart.  *tears* I don’t know, but there’s just something about his character that sticks to your memory and to your heart.

I have A Tale of Two Cities.  It’s a good copy and I got it for a bargain.  I’ve scanned through the first page before buying and already I felt like it was going to be a really good read.  Hopefully I get to read it within the year.  I’ve hoarded so many the past few months that just the process of picking what book to read next gets stressful as there are so many unread books and all are what I have been wanting to read the past year at least.

So, what’s your favorite Dickens? 🙂

Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to great expectations

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading great expectations at a book diary.

meta

