guilty pleasure : douglas adams

Douglas Adams is like a breath of fresh air for me.  His books are so unlike my usual reads, which is probably the reason why I like them so much: his writing is a haven from my more serious reads.  It wasn’t love at first sight.  It took me a second reading before I realized that he’s growing on me.  Since then I buy any of his books I haven’t read that I come across with.  He is one of those authors whose works I follow.

WHY?

His writing simply tickles me in all the right places.

He is known for The Hitchhicker’s Trilogy:

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

The Restaurant at the End of the Universe

Life, the Universe and Everything

So long, and Thanks for All the Fish

(Yes, there are four, and I have read all but one.)

I have heard so much of The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy before I got to read it, and I must say that it wasn’t what I expected at all.  All I knew was that it was a Sci-Fi work and funny.  It was different from what I expected, but it’s all good.

My personal favorite would be The Long Dark Tea-Time of the Soul.  It was my second read.

weheartit

But there’s something more about Adams and his effect on me.  Sometimes when I travel and look up at the sky, or look at the sea and the horizon, my mind turns to him and his stories.  How little he makes me feel, how insignificant! –and not in a bad way.  He reminds you how big the universe is, and how it’s one big joke sometimes… how we should take things easy.

He has given details through the characters in his books to this perspective in life I have had:  how life is short!  how the world moves on in spite of us! how insignificant and special we are at the same time.

One thought on “guilty pleasure : douglas adams

Leave a Reply

